Anime News

LiSA, ClariS, QUEENDOM and More to Perform in NHK World Japan’s Songs of Tokyo Music Festival

Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba


The annual Songs of Tokyo Music pop-music festival returns again this year with an in-person audience, bringing all the latest music from anime and Japanese pop culture to NHK’s international channel NHK World Japan. The channel revealed the full line-up tonight including when the two days will be broadcast on its internet channel and video-on-demand service.



Here’s the full line-up for both days:


  • ClariS 
  • Ai Higuchi
  • Hironobu Kageyama
  • Hiroshi Kitadani
  • Liella!
  • LiSA 
  • macaroni empitsu
  • Toshiya Miyata (Kis-My-Ft2)
  • Nana Mizuki Nana
  • Naniwa Danshi
  • Masatoshi Ono



Superstar LiSA is set to perform “Akeboshi” from Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba Mugen Train Arc as well as “Yuke” from Sword Art Online -Progressive- Aria of a Starless Night with all nine members of Liella! from Love Live! Superstar!! performing the second season opening theme “WE WILL!!!” alongside ClariS performing “ALIVE” from Lycoris Recoil and “Connect” from Puella Magi Madoka Magica.


RELATED: One Piece Film Red Times Square Takeover and More Planned for NYCC


The highlight of the event though looks to be the classic anime opening section where Hironobu Kageyama, Hiroshi Kitadani and Masatoshi Ono will perform the opening theme songs from Dragon Ball Z, One Piece and Hunter x Hunter.


The Songs of Tokyo Music Festival will be tapped on October 1 and then released on NHK World Japan in two parts, “Day One” and “Day Two,” over two weeks with Day One being released on November 5 and Day Two on November 12. Both days will be available to stream on NHK World Japan’s VOD service for three months after release.


Source: NHK


Try Crunchyroll Premium Today!


Daryl Harding is a Senior Japan Correspondent for Crunchyroll News. He also runs a YouTube channel about Japan stuff called TheDoctorDazza, tweets at @DoctorDazza, and posts photos of his travels on Instagram